30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Days 14 & 15} Motivation and My Journey to Being Soul Beautiful

15 Nov

If you are on Pinterest and have any kind of fitness board, you have probably seen this picture (and pinned it.)

I am on week 12!  I can attest to these statements above as pretty accurate.  I noticed some results around 4 weeks and friends and family are already saying they can see a difference since I started working out consistently.

When I began to work-out, after my second C-section in June, I was at 275.  Not quite the heaviest I had been, but close.  I was sick of not being able to do things I wanted to do, wear what I wanted, and feeling awful. I didn’t recognize the person in the mirror.  Even though I have been struggling with my weight since my knee surgery 10 years ago, I still don’t associate myself with the fat person I see in the mirror, because I know I am not that person.  I’ve been pretty and in amazing shape and I want that person back, inside and out.

I am not comfortable in my own skin.  But sitting around feeling mad or sorry for myself wasn’t going to help.  Only I could make changes to be healthier and happier.

I began walking 2 miles, 2-3 times a week with my friend, but I knew I needed to step it up to really see a benefit.  Despite the running craze that seems to be taking over, I despise running long distance.  Always have, even when I played softball.  I even tried the couch-5K thing.  Massive fail.  Some people just aren’t made for running.  I am one of them.

I had a friend that I knew who had completed the G-Fit program and was now working out every morning at 5:30 before school (she’s a teacher.)  She had a few friends who joined her so I inquired about what they did and if I could check it out.  I was welcomed with open arms.

I went on a Thursday morning about 7 weeks ago, groggy and grumbly because me and morning are not friends.  I brought my friend with me for support.  There was a group of about 7 girls.  They kicked our butt!

Sprints, sprints, and more sprints, mingled with jumping jacks, lunges, squats, frog jumps, push-ups, and any other exercise you can think of.  It would have been a tough workout for me when I was in shape in college and playing softball, let alone almost 4 months after having a baby.

I didn’t think I’d be able to move the next day.

I was right.

But I went back!

I have kept on going back.  I had to make a major change and sacrifices, including less sleep. This lifelong night owl is working on an earlier bedtime.

So I am making those changes.  I am not on a diet because they don’t work for me.  I love food (as you can see.)  I’m just making healthier choices, smaller portions and being aware of what I am eating.  I made the move from fully leaded pop to diet, and yes I know that is not much better, but I am working on it.  I drink more water than anything.  I’d rather work my tail off than stop eating the foods I love, and that is ok for me. I have also used some amazing fit products to help tone and tighten.  The IT works wraps are wonderful.  I have used three on my tummy area and have lost a total of 10 inches!  They help break down the fat and detox your system.  The results are easy to maintain if you work, hence why they call them fit products! I recommend them highly. They have a whole range of products to help your overall health.

I am committed to working out.  I get up 4-5 times a week at 5:05 am so I can go get my behind kicked by a great group of ladies.  We even gave ourselves a name, The LIMEs (Ladies in Motion Everyday.)  We are going to get some t-shirts! We are moving, motivated, and amazing.  Seriously, that’s our tag line.  The group has grown to about 20 ladies who come in all shapes and sizes and fitness levels.  We all do as much as we can, the best we can and there is no judgement; just encouragement and motivation.  I adore these girls, and am so grateful for them! When I miss a day, which happens, I miss it.  My body is now craving these workouts!

I’m planning on stepping it up again soon and trying to use my wonderful elliptical machine that is gathering dust in the corner of my living room.  Adding that in a few days a week should keep me from plateauing.  My friend and I have also made a pact to limit ourselves to one plate and one dessert at Thanksgiving.  If we can survive the holidays, we have a chance at success! I am also going to attempt to join a roller derby team.  Yep, roller derby!  I’m going to check out a practice tonight.  I’ll update later.

This isn’t just a journey to lose weight, look and feel better, and get healthier.  It is also about re-shaping the inside as well.  My soul needs just as much attention and forming as my body does.  Getting up so early has allowed time to do my devotional almost every morning and those times have been so beneficial to how the rest of my day goes.  When my day begins by focusing on what God has for me, everything just seems to fall in place.  I’m working on pouring grace and love in, so that I am able to pour more of it back out into my children, husband, family, friends, and anyone else God places in my path.  When I season my soul with grace, what comes out is sweeter and lovelier than anything I can do on my own.  I am allowing God to transform my bitterness, doubt, and unhappiness into something amazing and graceful.  Beautiful and loved because I am His.

I am grateful that I have been motivated to begin and keep on this journey.  So far I have lost about 15 lbs (I haven’t weighed in a little over a week,) and 27 inches total.  I have a long way to go, but I’m taking it one step at a time.  Part of my journey is sharing my story.  I have prayed and struggled with how I would do that.  I am nervous and self-concious about posting this story and these pictures, but God reminded me that others were brave enough to do it and those people have helped motivate me.  If I can encourage even one person, then I need to be brave too.  So, deep breath, here we go.  Please be kind! Disclaimer: Pictures taken after work-outs and without make-up.

 

Hello double chin.
Taken 12 weeks ago, with my beautiful niece Sophia.

Not quite so many chins!
Taken last night, after 12 weeks

I’m not perfect and far from complete, but I am motivated and doing my best.  I’m trying to have more good days than bad and when a bad one creeps in, I cling to Christ and the knowledge that there is hope and grace and another day.  I am growing and I am letting God shape the inside as I help shape the outside so that all of me is soul beautiful.

Who has helped motivate and encourage you? Are you on your own journey? I’d love to hear about it.

Gracefully~~Heather Tiger

15 Responses to “30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Days 14 & 15} Motivation and My Journey to Being Soul Beautiful”

  1. aarontiger November 15, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Proud of you, honey! You have, are, and forever will be beautiful to me!

    • Heather Tiger November 15, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      Thank you baby. I love you! Thanks for sticking by and encouraging me!

  2. leannepenny November 15, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Shut up, you’re amazing!!! So proud of you. Inspirational!!

    • Heather Tiger November 15, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks friend!

  3. Nichole Vose November 15, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    You have always been beautiful inside and out 🙂 I have always struggled with weight. Thankfully I have alaways had the most supportive friends and family Any girl could ask for. Keep up your hard work girl, u will help more people along the way than u will ever know. Love u! “Pup” 🙂

    • Heather Tiger November 15, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Aww! Thanks girl, and you have always been beautiful as well, and a wonderful friend. Thanks for the kind words!

  4. Anna November 15, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Thanks for sharing, Heather. I look forward to seeing you at Christmas!

    • Lisa Brown Lambkins November 15, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Good luck heather i enjoyed reading this a whole lot i have some of those same feelings and you are really inspiring i have read some of your blog you have by the way and its really good didn’t know you could write so good!!!!!

      • Heather Tiger November 16, 2012 at 11:37 am #

        Thanks Lisa! I appreciate your sweet words and the encouragement. It is good to know God is working through my words, inspiring others, as others have inspired me.

  5. Glenda knight November 15, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Loved reading this. So impressed and I know it took a lot of courage.

    • Heather Tiger November 16, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Thank you Glenda! It did and knowing I am surrounded by supportive people like you.

  6. Priscilla November 16, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Heather-thanks for sharing. You have it right (in my opinion) that you must commit to change the whole person. I am so grateful we have a God who wants to work in us to do that. Since I struggle in this area also, I know how difficult this is at times, but know that God continues to use my struggle to draw me closer to Him. Continue to take one day at a time! You are a beautiful person and I am glad you are a part of my life.

    • Heather Tiger November 16, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you, and I am so blessed to have you in my life as well. You are an inspiration to me in your faith and the lifestyle you lead. Thank you for the encouragement!

  7. Abbey November 16, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    I am so proud of you! You are beautiful, Heather! I am so impressed by your motivation & consistency- those are not always easy things to hold on to! Praying for you in your journey. Can’t wait to see you next week! And CAN’T WAIT to hear abt roller derby!!
    Love you
    Xoxo

    • Heather Tiger November 16, 2012 at 11:40 am #

      Thanks Abs! Your words mean a lot and we are also so excited to see you all next week! Love you!

Leave a comment