Chicken Taco Chili: My version from Pinterest

12 Nov

I took a picture on Instagram yesterday of the crock-pot lunch I had made for Sunday lunch.

It has been a big hit on Facebook and even had a few requests for the recipe (keep reading to find my recipe!)

Well…..I found the idea on Pinterest (where else?), but I actually clicked on the picture and the link didn’t work, though this is what they had listed in the subject line:

“Chicken taco chili…only about 200 calories a serving and made 8 servings! 1 can black beans, 1 can kidney beans, 1 can corn kernels, 16 oz tomato sauce, 28 oz diced tomatoes, packet taco seasoning, 1 tbsp chili powder, 3 boneless chicken breasts. 6 hours high or 10 hours low in the crock pot.”

This is the Pinterest picture and version

I went back today and found a working link and the recipe was pretty similar to what I had pinned (though I tweaked it quite a bit!) I found a working link and recipe at Skinnytaste.com.  I can’t personally comment to this version’s yumminess, but it looks good!

When I was deciding what to throw into the crock-pot late Saturday night I thought about consulting Pinterest, but I was too tired.  I was pretty sure I would either do Cheddar Chicken and Rice Casserole or Cream Cheese Crock-Pot Chicken, both of which I have made enough to know the recipe by heart now.  You can find those recipe pins and lots of other tummy yummy goodness on my Yummo! Pinterest board.

When early Sunday morning rolled around, I groggily got my chattering 5-month old out of his crib, changed the diaper and dragged us both into the kitchen.  It was cold and rainy outside and I had lost all motivation to function, but function I must.  I got Kasen’s bottle ready and while it warmed, I got the crock-pot and chicken out and pondered what I would include with the plump ladies.  As a chill ran through me I decided a chili was the way to go.  The problem was I had not made the chicken taco chili recipe yet!  I thought about looking it up on my phone, but Kasen was getting antsy, so I improvised from what I thought I remembered and a few other chicken recipes I had made.  Here was my chili concoction:

My version of Chicken Taco Chili

Please forgive the photo quality.  Like I said earlier, it was Instagram and on a iPhone 3Gs.  Don’t worry we are upgrading soon! I promise the taste quality far outshone the picture.  It was DELISH!

Here is my recipe.  This is stuff I had on hand, so it might be better with other ingredients.

Crock-Pot Chicken Taco Chili

4 Chicken Breasts (Frozen or fresh) (I used fresh)

1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can sweet corn (partially drained)

1 can Progresso recipe starter in Fire-roasted tomato

2 6 oz. cans V-8 juice (they come in a 4-pack)

2 80z. can tomato sauce

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 packet fiesta ranch dip

2 taco seasoning packets (I use Old El Paso mild)

2 tsp Worcestershire

2 tsp garlic and onion powder

1 tsp chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

Place the chicken breasts in crock-pot and add all dry ingredients, covering the breasts.  Add the beans and corn, salt and pepper to taste.  Add the Worcestershire and then the cream of chicken.  Finally add the V-8 and tomato sauce.  I salt and pepper again (lightly). Slightly stir to mix.  Cover and cook on low 6-8 hrs, or High 3-4. (I might add an hour if chicken is frozen) I stirred the ingredients after about an hour on high.

Remove chicken after cooked and shred using two forks.  Return chicken to crock-pot and let cook for another 30-45 minutes so the chicken absorbs some juice.

Serve plain or with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream, or even over rice!

It will warm you up on a cold, rainy, Fall day for sure.  It may have a lot of ingredients, but it was super easy and fast to throw together in the crock-pot.  Shredding the chicken took the longest.

I’d love to hear any changes you make or how your version turns out.

Enjoy!

Gracefully~~Heather

2 Responses to “Chicken Taco Chili: My version from Pinterest”

  1. Debra Monroe August 2, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    This is one of my new favorite meals, my family loves it too and i love that it’s healthy! Thank you for sharing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Day 12} Low & Slow « Thorn in My Heart - November 12, 2012

    […] ← Previous […]

Leave a comment