30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Day 9} Drama Queens

9 Nov

I love to read.  It is a luxury that I took for granted before the hubs and I had children.

Pre-children, I could lose myself in a good novel or series and read cover to cover, no interruptions.  I would read non-stop and often experience a book hang-over after completing a really great read.

Post-children, I usually have to wait until after bedtime to pick up my latest novel(s) and I am often too exhausted to read more than a chapter or two, not able to summon the enthusiasm to let the book transport me to another world.  It has been a real adjustment for me to not finish a book within a day or two of starting it. 

I know this is just a season of our lives, and a blessed one, as we focus our time and energy on our two little tiger cubs.  I know the memories we make with them are far more precious than any storyline I could lose myself in.

Still, I look forward to the days I can re-ignite my novel affairs.

For now I am very grateful for the precious moments I can indulge my bookworm side.  I even started a book club in August with some friends and while it has been slow to take-off, I have loved the gatherings and the books.

We named ourselves the Drama Queens and we take turns choosing a book and hosting the book club gatherings once a month.  There is delicious food to share (recipes usually off Pinterest), stimulating conversation, and even an occasional movie watched.  Mostly it is the chance to read a good book and share the sacred (kid-free) time with some fabulous ladies.  Thank you sweet hubs for allowing me to have that time each month.

So, thank you Drama Queens for sharing this love of reading, good food, and great company!

Good friends & good reads

 

What about you, dear reader, do you love to read?  Are you part of a book club?

4 Responses to “30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Day 9} Drama Queens”

  1. MoreCoffeePlz November 9, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Haha well in that case, I’m going to enjoy my pre-children stage! I’m a loner, not part of any book club. Last month I got through 5 novels 🙂

    I heard “Redeeming Love” that you have in the picture is really good. I haven’t read it, but I read the Atonement Child by the same author.

  2. Heather Tiger November 9, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    Yes, enjoy the pre-children stage and read, read, read! I am thrilled when I get through 1-2 books a month now, if that. But my babies are young so it will get better as they get older (I hope).

    “Redeeming Love” is one of my favorite books of all time, and I have read a lot. The girls in my book club Loved it.
    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I am enjoying your posts!

  3. Miss M November 9, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    Love Redeeming love and all the books by Francine Rivers!

    • Heather Tiger November 9, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

      It’s my favorite! She is a fabulous author. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

