Tent Grumbling

24 Apr

I have not been sleeping well.  Between the heartburn and not being able to get comfortable, despite being surrounded by tons of pillows, I am feeling the effects of lousy sleep.  I feel that dark cloud creeping overhead.  The anxiety of all that I still need to get done around the house and to prepare for Kasen’s arrival is crowding out happy thoughts.  I am becoming Mrs. Grumble. (Anyone else read these books as a kid?  I loved Miss Sunshine!)

As I was forcing myself (yes, I grumbled), into reading my devotion this morning, I felt like God was on vacation.  “Hello?  Are You taking an extended Spring Break?  Did you forget about little me?  Grumble. Grumble. Grumble.”

This was the scripture I read on Girlfriends in God:

13 But they soon forgot what he had done
and did not wait for his plan to unfold.
14 In the desert they gave in to their craving;
in the wilderness they put God to the test.

24 Then they despised the pleasant land;
they did not believe his promise.
25 They grumbled in their tents
and did not obey the LORD.”

Psalm 106: 13-14, 24-25

And there it was; God’s not so subtle response to my grumbling.  I was sitting there, grumbling in my tent, and God was more than happy to point that out.  I have been grumbling because I’m tired, stressed, and a bit overwhelmed.

Who isn’t?

I have been grumbling at Aaron for little things, instead of focusing on the big things he does so well, like being an amazing daddy and going to pick up my Prilosec and nausea pills without grumbling.

Sorry honey!

The beginning of Psalm 106 is a reminder of what kind of perspective creates a joyful heart; one of praise, not grumbling.

“1 Praise the LORD.

   Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

2 Who can proclaim the mighty acts of the LORD
or fully declare his praise?
3 Blessed are those who act justly,
who always do what is right.

4 Remember me, LORD, when you show favor to your people,
come to my aid when you save them,
5 that I may enjoy the prosperity of your chosen ones,
that I may share in the joy of your nation
and join your inheritance in giving praise.”

Instead of grumbling about the small things that drag me down, I need to turn that into praise for those things in my life.  I am overwhelmed by my to-do list because I am blessed enough to be 8 1/2 months pregnant with a precious little boy.  I’m uncomfortable because Kasen is growing and healthy.  I’m tired because I get the pleasure of keeping up with my 2 1/2 yr old bundle of little boy joy.  I can grumble in my tent because I have a good home to live in and have the ability to keep it clean because I am healthy, even if slightly unbalanced at the moment!

Here is an except from my devotion:

“Oh yes, how a Godly perspective can change our attitudes and the words that reflect them.  When we begin to praise God in the middle of the mundane, He refreshes us with a new outlook on life!  The book of Psalms is a powerful collection of praises to God, and interestingly, many of the beautiful prose were written when David was struggling with depression, desperation, or devastation.”

I figure I’ll ask forgiveness and try praising God instead of grumbling at Him in the midst of my mundane complaints.  He has richly blessed my life and that is what I need to focus on when the little cloud begins to turn gray and grumbly.

What mundane things in your life cause you to grumble?  How can you turn those things into praise?

Here’s to the rest of the week being a grumble-free zone!

Gracefully~~Heather

4 Responses to “Tent Grumbling”

  1. bornattwentyfive April 24, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Great post!

    • Heather Tiger April 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Thank you! Glad you stopped by.

  2. okgranniepeg April 24, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Those were great books.

  3. leannepenny April 26, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    I loved those books too! I so feel ya in this post, I so often forget the faithfulness and exchange it for grumbling and fear.

Leave a Reply

