Spring has Sprung

20 Mar

While the forecast for this week is full of rain, storms, and gloominess, this past Saturday was B-E-A-Utiful!  The weather has been so warm already, and while this doesn’t bode well for this very pregnant mom (almost 29 wks!) in the remaining months, it has been wonderful to have an early Spring to enjoy with our little man.

The hubs and I have really been treasuring these last few months we will have with Micah as our only little boy.  While we know our joy will only increase once Kasen arrives to bless our family, we are enjoying the heck out of these last precious months of just us three.  I still wonder how I will love another child as much as I do my little man. I know I will, but it is just hard to wrap my head around.

So, back to Saturday… Micah wanted to go out in the backyard to play.  Normally, we wouldn’t have hesitated, but with the Aaron’s crazy busy schedule at the church, he had not had a chance to mow yet.  The yard was a bit high, like up to Micah’s knees in some spots.  We have crazy, growing grass.  Don’t judge! But we were plied with a puppy eyes and this,  “Outside, pease?!  Pease Mommy, Daddy?” How could we say no?  We had plans to go in to town that evening for dinner and shopping, so while the hubs jumped in the shower, I agreed to take Micah out in the backyard.

(There’s more…..)

Now, while our grass was high, it was also covered with “flowers.”  Okay, some might call them weeds, but they were purple and pretty, so I call them flowers.  They were everywhere, and I thought it might be a good chance to get some Spring pictures, and maybe skip the Easter portrait session this year! (Who loves to save some money?!)

I grabbed my camera, handed Micah a baggie so he could pick the pretty flowers, and we went out to enjoy the sunshine.  As I followed Micah as he bounded out into the yard, I was so eager to click away and capture his joy and sweet face.  He had other ideas.

“No Mommy!  Put down! Play!”

This was the response I got when I asked him to cheese for the camera.  He was quite adamant and very stubbornly avoided looking at me.  In  fact, he kept turning his back on me when I crouched to get a cute shot as he picked me flowers.

Amid the weeds and dodging a few wasps (eek), I managed to get some good shots.  Even more once the hubs joined us.  I stopped shooting so I could enjoy my son and the simple joy he got from picking flowers.

I guess one man’s weeds is really another little man’s flowers!

Since Micah wasn’t actually in his Easter outfit, I hope I can find a good spot somewhere and get a few more shots, but we will not be getting professional pictures this time.  Prints from Shutterfly will do just fine, and yay for saving money!

There are a ton of shots here…I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

I wish I would have had a cute little basket on hand

Studiously avoiding the camera

Time-out from picking to kick the ball around

My hands were full of flowers, my heart full of love

Chasing our dog, Beau

He did not like how the flowers tasted (yep, he tried one), or how sticky they were

I managed to coax his hat off (not easy), and this cheesy grin out of him

I absolutely love this one

He was scattering some flowers

Had to play with a few sticks

Really, mommy?

I love this look

Like father, like son

Praying for more time outside I think..

Little ham

My Heart

 

Gracefully~~Heather

2 Responses to “Spring has Sprung”

  1. Peggie Crews Fusick March 21, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    Wonderful pictures.

    • Heather Tiger March 21, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      Thank you Mom!

Leave a Reply

