Prep Mode: Day 24: Lent Journey

20 Mar

 

 

“”Now listen, daughter, don’t miss a word:
      forget your country, put your home behind you.
   Be here—the king is wild for you.
      Since he’s your lord, adore him.  Set your mind now on sons—
      don’t dote on father and grandfather.
   You’ll set your sons up as princes
      all over the earth.

Psalm 45:10-11, 16 (The Message)

Today, I am just going to let this scripture be the focus.  I am working on a little more in-depth post covering some touchy issues, and I don’t want to rush it.  The inspiration came late last night.  I feel like God is really wanting this message to be a bit more than usual, so please bear with me until tomorrow.

I also overdid it a bit yesterday!  The hubs took the day off (after a long week last week) and we worked on the yard before the rain hit; he mowed and I weeded some and picked up trash from the yard.  Our yard is a pass-through for people (aggravating), and they dump their trash.  I often see empty cigarette cartons lying in the grass.  Fun for the kiddo to find.  After the yard came painting!  Yep, we got the nursery painted.  Two coats in a room with no ceiling fan in humid, rainy, warm weather=no fun for this pregnant mom.  Even with breaks between walls, for me, I was done in.  So glad I put on a roast in the slow cooker so no dinner prep was expected later!

I went to pick up the little guy from his babysitter (whom he had been asking to go see ALL weekend), and we went over to see a family from the church so Micah could play with their 3 kids and the hubs could move some furniture back into the nursery.  I love watching Micah interact with these kids.  They love him, and he adores them. They are older by a few years, but they are so great with him.  It was a battle to leave, but once convinced we had to go home to see daddy, he was on board.  He is a very loving child and likes to give hugs and kisses, and he has started giving them to everyone when we leave somewhere.  As he made his rounds to say goodbye, he decided Ella, their 7 yr. old daughter needed some extra kisses.  He kissed her like 6 times until she kissed him back, even once on her nose!  Sweet, adorable, and funny, but oh my….he is going to be a handful when he gets older!  I got him home and his motor ran on full speed until I finally sang him to sleep at 9.  He’s really fighting sleep these days.  So not fun.

Needless to say, I am taking a day to rest some, recover, and focus on renewing my spirit in the gloomy rain.

Check out the above scripture and let it ruminate.

I hope to see you tomorrow for a few new posts!

Gracefully~~Heather

 

Leave a Reply

