Must Share MWF

16 Mar

I am not alone!

In my search for a new best friend, in close proximity, that is.  (You can read about why I am searching HERE)

Thanks to WordPress, I came across an amazing blogger and author, named Rachel Bertsche, who not only started a blog about seeking a new best friend.  She wrote a book about it!

MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend

I ordered it!  (Yes honey…I love you honey!) And I ordered the paper version, not the Kindle.  Sometimes you need to hold the actual pages.

After perusing her blog, I cannot wait to get my hands on the book and read away.

Do I think it will be a magic bullet, cure-all and will automatically land me a best friend?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  But it will help me not feel so alone in my search.

Here are the details:From Amazon’s excerpt-

When Rachel Bertsche first moves to Chicago, she’s thrilled to finally share a zip code, let alone an apartment, with her boyfriend. But shortly after getting married, Bertsche realizes that her new life is missing one thing: friends. Sure, she has plenty of BFFs—in New York and San Francisco and Boston and Washington, D.C. Still, in her adopted hometown, there’s no one to call at the last minute for girl talk over brunch or a reality-TV marathon over a bottle of wine. Taking matters into her own hands, Bertsche develops a plan: She’ll go on fifty-two friend-dates, one per week for a year, in hopes of meeting her new Best Friend Forever.

You can buy the book from Amazon, HERE

Photo from MWF Seeking BFF, http://mwfseekingbff.com/

Yep.  She went on friend dates.  52.  Talk about a new year’s resolution.

Granted Rachel lives in Chicago and I live in Muldrow, OK.  Her sea of choices is a bit broader and deeper. I’m not sure I can find 52 people to “date” here in Muldrow, let alone the time, with another baby boy on the way.  Playdates count right? I can hardly find time to date my husband.

I’m not sure what will come of my reading the book.  I’m playing around with the idea of doing a series on it. After my Lent series is over.  Thoughts?

I’m sure you will be hearing about it.  It should be arriving sometime next week.  YAY!

Until then, I’ll keep checking out her blog, MWF Seeking BFF, and think you should too.

I am also penciling in names for “dates”!  Can I sign you up?!

I’d like to think this was put in my path by God.  I’m still trusting in Him to fill me up in those vacant, voided places, but it’d also be nice to have a girlfriend to share some of the journey with here.

Have you found it more difficult to make friends as an adult?

Gracefully~~Heather

2 Responses to “Must Share MWF”

  1. Beth Gifford March 17, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    One Pastor’s wife to another, I know the search for the ultimate BFF can be fraud with landmines; difficult to say the least. Those places that others may find friends are not so easy for us. Church small groups, faith based mother’s clubs – we are seen through a different lens. And, having relocated more times than I care to count for my husband’s ministry opportunities equates to having start over many times. Thank goodness for the internet and digital means of fostering and growing precious, genuine friendships. You’ll find your BFF, Heather – God will provide!

    • Heather Tiger March 17, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Thank you for your encouragement! It certainly is difficult and different making a BFF type friend as a pastor’s wife. I have a few close friends whom I cherish, but they leave too far for that everyday outing or quick cup of coffee. And yes, God will provide!

Leave a Reply

