Can Only Be Me: Day 20: Lent Journey

15 Mar

*There is an original poem for today’s post…but you have to read the whole thing to find it!**

 

“Be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs.  God’s strong hand is on you, he’ll promote you at the right time.  It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ- eternal and glorious plans they are!- will have you put together and on your feet for good.  He gets the last word; yes he does.

1 Peter 5-6, 11 (The Message)

au·then·tic: not false or copied; genuine; real

(according to dictionary.com)

God created us to be authentic people.  We are created as unique, yet we spend so much time and energy trying to be just like everyone, or someone, else.  Why?

When did being yourself stop being enough? 

I have many weaknesses, failings, and imperfections that I need to allow God to refine.  But I need to be refined as I am; as I am created to be.  I don’t need to become as good as someone else, only as wonderful as I am.

This is not easy for me.  I’m constantly comparing myself to others as a mom, pastor’s wife, wife, friend, writer, blogger, and woman.  That is a lot of comparing, and I often find myself falling short when I do this.  I’m unhappy when I do this.  God doesn’t want me to do this!

This doesn’t mean that I don’t need work.  I do!  But I need to let God work on my heart first.  I need to compare myself to His list.  Am I being the kind of person He created me to be?  If not, then I need to ask Him to show me the steps I need to change.  I need to let Him form me from the inside out.

God doesn’t want me to be anyone but me.

God doesn’t want you to be anyone but you.

And we, are enough!

Measure of a Life

by Heather Tiger

We used to be measured in inches,

then we moved on to feet.

Life used to be easy,

before we’re urged to compete.

When do we become aware,

that we’re not up to snuff?

When do we realize,

someone’s got better stuff?

Messages get mixed up,

from be good to be great.

Don’t worry about being unique,

society will set you straight.

What’s the value of a life,

lived to its own beat?

What’s the measurement of a path,

created by only two feet?

There has to be a better way,

than just falling into place.

For what I see in the mirror,

shouldn’t be your face.

I think this is my journey,

to exist in my own space.

This should be the measure,

of a life lived by grace.

************************

Day 20’s Daily Step:

Rejoice!  We are halfway!

Spend some time really thinking about how you measure yourself.  Do you compare yourself to others?  Do you know who God wants you to be?

Ask Him. Then listen.

Hope to see you for Day 21!

Gracefully~~Heather

2 Responses to “Can Only Be Me: Day 20: Lent Journey”

  1. Beth Gifford March 15, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Hello Heather! I love that you include consulting God on His will for our lives. So often we rely on our own capabilities and forget that our Creator has a plan for us, and we would do well to ask Him about that! And lately I’ve been thinking a lot about Psalm 139:4-6, and 13-18. What a fabulous thought to know that God knew me from conception, and has a purpose for me. So I must be enough. Now, to convince myself before I see another skinny model on a magazine. cover.

    • Heather Tiger March 15, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      The last few days’ posts have all centered on this message of being enough. I’m glad God is speaking to you through my words, but more importantly, His!
      Thank you for your comment and stopping by.

Leave a Reply

