Are You White Rabbiting God?: Day 15: Lent Journey

9 Mar

“God isn’t late with his promise as some measure lateness.  He is restraining himself on account of you, holding back the End because he doesn’t want anyone lost.  He’s giving everyone space and time to change.”

2 Peter 3:9 (The Message)

I enjoy the classic Disney film, Alice in Wonderland.  I adore the mischievous Cheshire Cat.  I think the Mad Hatter is endearing, and what a dear little mouse.  I even find a soft spot of sadness for the unhappy Queen.  I do not, however, care much for the persnickety White Rabbit.  Whenever I watched dear Alice chasing the rabbit’s retreating tail, I found myself wanting to flick him in the head for being so darn rude.

Instead of just repeating, “We’re late. We’re late, for a very important date,” how much trouble would it have been to take 5 seconds to explain what you are late for, and why things are looking so very strange?  You have time to consult your giant pocket-watch, you have time to explain yourself, rabbit!  Instead he scurries off, repeating the endless phrase, We’re Late, and leads Alice into Wonderland.

I wonder if God gets tired of our endless white rabbiting?

Image courtesy and copyright of Disney. Image is a screencap and displayed for personal and fan use from http://www.alice-in-wonderland.net/pictures/white-rabbit-pictures.html

What I mean by that is a constant refrain God must hear from us, of  phrases like:

  • “Why hasn’t this prayer been answered yet?”
  • “Why am I not patient yet?”
  • “Are you listening to me yet?”
  • “When will I receive my purpose/blessing/answer?”

The list could go on, in a host of variations, but the trend is the same; “God, when are You?”

I know I am guilty of white rabbiting God.  ‘Hey, God, we are way behind schedule on figuring my life out, so if we can hurry up…”

The thing is, God is never late.  God is never early.  God’s timing is perfect.

“God makes everything happen at the right time. Yet none of us can ever fully understand all he has done, and he puts questions in our minds about the past and the future.”   Ecclesiastes 3:11(CEV, Contemporary English Version)

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yetno one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”  Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NIV)

The scripture from 2 Peter are the perfect reminder as to why God is never late.  He is waiting on us!  God knows when is the right time for us to experience certain things in our lives, and He is not going to lead us down a path we are not ready for.  He doesn’t want us lost or falling behind.  That is exactly what happens though when we rush on ahead, sure we are ready when we are not.

I know that I feel like I am ready for my writing career to take off.  I’m ready to be the next Jodi Picoult or Karen Kingsbury, right? So why hasn’t God helped the words spill forth; the ideas are all there.  Why don’t I have hundreds of readers on my blog?  Why are you late God?

All these things and more run through my head when I get impatient and anxious to be living out my calling my way, in my time.  In those moments when I am more sane and centered on God, like after a devotional time, I realize that God is still preparing me for all He has planned for my writing career.  He isn’t done refining me yet.

In reality, I know that it has been hard to just maintain my blog on a daily basis for the past 15 days.  Dishes pile up, laundry overflows, and my child wants my attention more and more.  This makes me feel overwhelmed at times.  God is still working on me here.

“God is the one who began this good work in you, and I am certain that he won’t stop before it is complete on the day that Christ Jesus returns.”  Philippians 1:6 (CEV)

The thing about God is that He keeps His promises.  He promises that He has given us each a unique purpose and calling, and that He will guide us as we run the race set before us.  So, we can trust that He will continue to refine our rough edges and prepare us for the plans He has for us, in His timing.

So, let’s stop white rabbiting Him, and start trusting in Him.  Let His timing provide us the preparation we need to really let our light shine when ready!

***********************************

Daily Step

Examine the areas you are white rabbiting God (being impatient).

Ask God to forgive your impatience and help you to trust in His perfect timing.  Ask Him to reveal those areas that still need refining.

Repeat the verse from above, Philippians 1:6, and believe it, thanking God for His perfecting work!

I am incredibly grateful that God is refining my rough edges each day through this Lenten journey.  It’s easy to get discouraged and overwhelmed when I don’t have very many readers during a day, or I visit other blogs and see how successful they are.  I am glad for the gentle reminders that I am not those other people.  I am me, and I am good enough.  Ahhh..that’s one edge that is a bit less sharp!

How is God refining you?

Hope to see you for Day 16

Gracefully~~Heather

3 Responses to “Are You White Rabbiting God?: Day 15: Lent Journey”

  1. Amy March 9, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    You have wonderful words. I’m amazed that you’ve had such creative things to say the last 15 days! I struggle to come up with something once a month for my youth newsletter – that’s about the only time I put my writing on paper! Keep going! Maybe you should write a devotional book and use many of these thoughts that you’ve already started! 🙂

    • Heather Tiger March 10, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Thank you Amy! I appreciate the encouragement. It hasn’t been easy, but it has been good for my soul. I’d love it, if God has plans for my words to become a devotional.

  2. leannepenny March 11, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Well done! I love it when I’m being impatient for God to provide patience. Sometimes in my spiritual someone needs to hit me with a frying pan.

Leave a Reply

