Marvelous Me, Unique You: Day 12: Lent Journey

6 Mar

“And I praise you because of the wonderful way you created me. Everything you do is marvelous! Of this I have no doubt. With your own eyes you saw my body being formed. Even before I was born, you had written in your book everything I would do.”

Psalm 139:14, (CEV)

Hi.  My name is Heather and I have a history of low self-esteem,  (Enter your name and self-image issue here.) Hi!

I guess I will share first.  I don’t know when I started comparing myself to others, but I have done it as long as I can remember.  I know my mom got gets tired of telling me that I can’t and shouldn’t compare myself with others; I just have to be myself and that is good enough.  As a perfectionist as well, (Yep, I’m one of those too), I suppose I often feel like I can never measure up or be good enough; there is always someone better than me. It is a daily battle that I fight in trying to accept and love who I am, and stop struggling to be someone other than me.

Why do we do measure our worth by what others think? Our society is so driven to be the best, brightest, prettiest, thinnest, richest, and happiest, that we trample each other and ourselves in our climb to the top. The sad part is that most of us get trampled along the way, and those that reach the top are quickly tossed aside and forgotten when someone better comes along. This is our cultural mindset.

This kind of thinking though is incredibly destructive to our well-being and completely against how God wants us to view ourselves.

Is there a better way?Oh, God, I hope so….literally!  The good news is my friends, that God’s way is not the world’s way.  God doesn’t want us comparing ourselves to the standards set by culture and society.  He wants us to know that we are each wonderfully, uniquely, and purposefully made.  The only measurement we should be taking is of our heart. Are we seeking whole-heartedly after God and who He has called us to be? Are we thanking God for making us exactly how He meant to make us, and celebrating our individual gifts, talents, quirks, and traits? There is no comparing ourselves to each other because when God makes someone, He breaks the mold, each time.  There will never be another me. There will never be another you.  God is able to do this because He doesn’t make mistakes.  We are made perfect, in Him.

If we are busy trying to compare ourselves to this person or that one, we often begin to lose sight of who we really are.  God created me to be me, not you.  And not only is that good enough….it is marvelous!

********************************

Day 12’s Daily Step from Holly Wagner’s devotional book, “Daily Steps for God Chicks: The 90-Day Devotional For Real Women,” is to get up, go stand in front of a mirror, look at your wonderful and unique face and body, and say, “Wow…Thank you, God, for making me just the way you did!” If you are feeling brave, give yourself a little whistle!

Seriously!  Get up and do it!  Out loud!  I did! I even whistled.  Yes, I felt silly.  Yes, I was alone.  But, I did it, and I felt good.

Part of our son’s nighttime prayer is this: “Thank you for this day. Thank you for making me, just this way!”

I guess I need to believe it and live it if I am teaching my son the same lesson.

So, thank you God for making me marvelous, and thank you for making each one of my fabulous readers a unique and wonderful creation!

Hope to see you for Day 13.

Gracefully~~Heather

Leave a Reply

