Know His Voice: Day 9: Lent Journey

3 Mar

 

 

“Dear friend, listen well to My words; tune your ears to My voice. Keep My message in plain view at all times. Concentrate! Learn it by heart! Those who discover these words live, really live; body and soul, they’re bursting with health.”

Proverbs 4:20-23, The Message

Most of us have those people in our lives who we know just by the sound of their voice.  Even before caller ID and smart phones that display a picture of the person calling, there were those people that just had to say, hello, and you knew who was calling.  Recognizing someone by their voice and their words is indicative of a deep, and abiding relationship.

This is the kind of relationship God desires to have with each of us.  He wants us to know Him so deeply that we can recognize His voice.  You may wonder how we can recognize a voice we haven’t heard.  Take heart!  There is a way to hear His voice, and hear it as often as we need to; the Bible is God’s voice.  In order for me to know His voice so well that I can recognize it in all circumstances and times, I need to hear it over and over again.  This will happen when I spend time devoted to listening and learning from His word.  I can tell a difference in spirit just from these 9+ days that I have been diligent in my devotional time.  The Scripture from Proverbs today says that those who truly seek and know God’s voice will find abundant health, body, mind, and spirit.

“But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.” Deuteronomy 4:29

“A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”  Luke 6:45

Today’s daily step is just to focus on hearing, learning, and knowing God’s voice.  Spend time in His word and find some Scriptures that address where you are in your journey.  I am focusing on not being alone.

“The LORD will vindicate me; your love, LORD, endures forever— do not abandon the works of your hands.” Psalm 138:8

I am learning to recognize His voice, day by day, and trusting when I hear Him say He will not abandon the works of His hands.  That would be me, and you!

Are you learning to recognize His voice?  What is stored in your heart and pouring forth?

Hope to see you for Day 10.

Enjoy the beginning of your weekend!

(I apologize for the delayed posting today.  It’s been a long day!  I did get the actual devotional read this morning though!)

Gracefully~~Heather

Leave a Reply

