Just Plain Tired: Day 10: Lent Journey

3 Mar

 

 

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me-watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Matthew 11:28-30, The Message

Did you know God has a sense of humor? He does!  Obviously, we are made in His image, and I for one, can be pretty hilarious at times. (Just let me live with this delusion!) Seriously though, I laughed out loud when I started reading today’s devotional and Scripture.

Am I tired?  Not seeing what is so funny?  Well, I decided I would start training for the sleepless, early days of a newborn and I have only had 3-4 hours of rest for the past two nights. OK. It’s a bit early for training. (I will wait for May!) I have actually been using my full night owlness to focus and put my creative abilities to work.  So, am I tired?  You see why I laughed?

This is just another of the small ways that God is showing me that He knows exactly what I need; even a reminder that I need rest! I have a feeling that I am not the only one.  I think we all tend to burn all the fuel we have during the week, not leaving much to cruise through the weekend on.

Jesus, here in Matthew, is calling us to slow down, fuel up, and recharge with him.  When we take a few moments to renew our spirit by spending time with God, we learn and reap the rewards of the rhythm of grace.  We can be washed over with peace and an unburdened heart, mind, spirit, and body, if only for a little bit.

*********************************************************************

Day 10′s Daily Step from Holly Wagner’s book, “Daily Steps for God Chicks: The 90-Day Devotional For Real Women:

Take time to rest in God’s presence.  Ask Jesus to meet with you in a moment of calm and peace. Be still and know that God is renewing you from the inside out.

I challenge you to just sit and let God’s presence and peace wash over you for 2 minutes. Ready. Go!

(Not easy to just sit is it?!) Now, ask God to direct your path this weekend, step by step, finding a renewed spirit along the way.

I hope you feel the sense of calm, renewed peace and rest I do after spending even 5 minutes in God’s presence.

Have a fabulous weekend!  Any exciting plans?

I’m off to finish my projects for my cousin’s baby shower, and am so excited I will be sharing some of them this weekend.  Keep an eye out!

Hope to see you back for Day 11 on Monday, or earlier if you want some crafty inspiration!

Gracefully~~Heather

Leave a Reply

