Who’s Your Constant?: Day 5: Lent Journey

27 Feb

“For God has said, “I will never leave you; I will never abandon you.” Let us be bold, then, and say, “The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid.  What can anyone do to me?”

Hebrews 13:5b-6 (Good News Translation)

“I will never leave you.  I will never abandon you.” For such a short verse, those are two incredibly powerful and large with meaning declarations.  If I believe God’s Word is true (I do), believe God’s Word is a promise (I do), and believe that God is the same, yesterday, today, and always (I do), then I should never feel alone.

Guess what!  I DO!  (For further insight into my dark, scary fear, check out Day 1.)  I have abandonment issues despite the abundantly clear message from God in the Scripture above and elsewhere in the Bible that He WILL NOT ABANDON me. God’s promises about always being with us are plentiful.  Here are a few verses to remind us.

  • Genesis 28:15
  • Deuteronomy 4:31, 31:6 & 31:8
  • Isaiah 29:51
  • Nehemiah 9:31
  • Psalm 9:10
  • Matthew 18:12
  • Matthew 28:20
  • John 14:27

If you take the time to look these verses up, you will see how often God reminds us, through many people, situations, and centuries, that He is always with us, to the very end of the age.  Then why is this (see cartoon below) the way we usually live?

Is Seeing Always Believing?

*I appreciate your kindness as you take in the amazingness that is the above cartoon.  Not only was that inspired and created at a very early hour, I also make no claims to be ANY kind of artist.  There is a reason I paint pictures with words and not my beautiful stick figures! I am also aware that I probably find the cartoon to be much cleverer than it actually is.  Just trying for some levity on a Monday morning.  So, go ahead and judge me!  =)

The point of the cartoon is that in times when I have felt alone, (as I’m struggling with now), God is finding ways to tell me He is with me.  The problem is, I don’t always listen.  Sometimes I don’t “hear” Him, sometimes I miss the obvious ways He uses to show me I’m not alone (a big hug from my son), and sometimes I am so busy hiding in my dark cave of pity, avoiding God’s plans, because I would rather doubt He will help me and wallow in my suffering.  Pretty sad huh?  I told you my sharing will not be all shiny sparkles.

Have you ever doubted that God was trying to do something in your life, even after directly asking for His help?

There is good news, despite our doubt!  God’s promise to us about never leaving us, never abandoning us, is not dependent on our belief.  It just is, because God is faithful and constant.  God will always be with us.  God will always be acting in our lives, in some way, letting us know that He is here.  What is so great about a constant God?

Well, if like me you were a fan of the show Lost, you know that having a constant could save your life.  If you have yet to discover the genius that is Lost, you should check it out, but I will give a quick synopsis of the role of constant on the island.

In season 4, episode 5, of Lost, “The Constant,” Desmond experiences flashes through time or consciousness shifts.  If he continues to flash back and forth between the two “times” he will die.  In order to stop, he needs to find his constant, Penny, and speak to her or see her in the current time.

As explained on Lostpedia, ” when a consciousness travels back and forth through time, it needs a constant to latch on to. A constant is an object or person that exists in both periods of time, that the traveler deeply cares about and could recognize. If a constant is not found, the oscillations between different times will become more frequent and chaotic until the individual dies from what appears to be a severe brain aneurysm.”

I know it’s confusing, but I promise it makes sense in the course of the show and the show’s mythology.  I use this example to demonstrate how important a constant presence can be in our lives, and helping us know we are not alone.  Just as Penny helps ground Desmond by “reminding” his soul or consciousness that he was loved and thought of in the past and present, so God desires to be our constant.  He wants us to be sure of His love and presence in our lives, no matter how chaotic life gets and no matter how alone we might feel.  God will always be there to tether us to His purpose and plans for our lives.

***************************************************************************

Day 5′s Daily Step from Holly Wagner’s book, “Daily Steps for God Chicks: The 90-Day Devotional For Real Women,” is to write down a time when God was there for you, lift your hands (literally) and thank God for always being there.

After thinking about the times that God has been there for me (so many) and praying about what to share, there wasn’t a specific time that came to mind.  Instead I felt God leading me to think about how often I have looked back in my life and realized that times I thought I was alone, that He was present.  He had either brought peace in troubled times or presented a friend during a time of need.  But I was never alone.  God often used the people or circumstances in my life to demonstrate his constant presence and provision.

Who is your constant?

Hope to see you for Day 6.

Gracefully~~Heather

2 Responses to “Who’s Your Constant?: Day 5: Lent Journey”

  1. Sonia February 28, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    First of all, the cartoon is funny:). Reminded me of the story of Ezekial in I King 19 when the Lord appeared to him in a still small voice except Ezekial actually recognized it:)))
    I didn’t have to think very long of times God has been there for me. One of the benefits of being “old”, you have more experiences to reference:). This is what I wrote in journal about a time God has been there for me.
    I agree with you Heather, He has been there for me …..
    Always, always always. I’m getting better at acknowledging it but He has always been there for me. He actually spoke those words to me at some very lonely times. I remember the time I worked at a marketing agency. I felt like an outcast because I didn’t fit in. I didn’t wear $200 jeans, I wasn’t blonde, skinny, drop dead gorgeous, I was wellll…me. I shared the Lord wwith some but the people around me were so wrapped up in material goods and gossip and worldliness that they didn’t want any part of Him. I remember this particular time all of my co-workers were gathered in the office across my cubicle. They were gossiping and laughing and I felt excluded and SO alone. I remember putting my head down on my desk and silently cried out to Jesus, ”Lord, I feel so alone!” Instantly, I felt a presence in my small cubicle and I heard Him whisper to me, “You are not alone, I am here with You” My cubicle filled with JOY and I felt like I was in the presence of angels singing. I glanced over to the office across me at all my co-workers and I remember thinking….. how sad! They are missing out on the party in my office! Only the Lord can do that:).
    Another sweet memory that came to mind was when I was at the hospital visiting my Dad who was dying. Every day we would get news from the doctor that was either hopeful or depressing. I was so worn out from getting my hopes up only to be let down the next day by the same doctor. I remember after one of the depressing visits I cried out to Jesus and said “Lord, I feel like I’m on a roller coaster and I hate roller coasters!” I clearly heard Him say to me “Then get off the roller coaster. I’m not about roller coasters, I am constant always”. Thank You Father God, thank You Lord Jesus, thank You Holy Spirit. I am so in love with You.

  2. OKGranniePeg February 29, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    “For God has said, “I will never leave you; I will never abandon you.” Let us be bold, then, and say, “The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. What can anyone do to me?” The last sentence is a double edged sword, we can allow other people’s words to hurt us and what they may think of us, keep us away from places where we felt happy. I have done that and have suffered because of my fear. God is with me, but I haven’t allowed Him to lead me back to that place.

Leave a Reply

