Lip Smackin’ Hashbrown Casserole

18 Feb

Our church, Trinity UMC, is celebrating its 10 yr. anniversary in May, and like all good churches, we are commemorating the milestone with a cookbook.  Being the pastor’s wife, I had a feeling I would not be excused from contributing.  The problem is that I am not a chef, gourmet cook, or foodie.  Oh, I can cook pretty well and I LOVE food, but I prefer to borrow recipes rather than come up with my own.  Without family, allrecipes.com, and pinterest, we might starve!  (Not really, but you get the idea.)

There are only a handful of recipes I can even begin to claim as my own, and that’s because I have tweaked them from their original state of being.  One of those was my hashbrown casserole.  Good church recipe, right?  I had recently come across another recipe for “Crack Potatoes” from the Plain Chicken website on pinterest and I had the brilliant idea of combining my recipe with some of the crack ingredients.  Tomorrow is the deadline to turn in the recipe (I have been warned) and it is also a church potluck to celebrate our custodian and wonderful lady, Ms. Lucille Edwards.  Lucille has been faithfully serving our church for 50 years as the custodian (she’s a spry 90 yrs young), and God for much longer.  She is a true disciple with a servant’s heart.

Perfect!  I figured I could create my Frankenstein casserole, turn in the recipe, and present a hopefully edible dish for the potluck.  I sent the hubs to the store armed with a list of double the ingredients so I could make a test batch for our dinner.  Here are the results!

(*Sidenote: This is my first food post, so cut me some slack on the photos!)

Ingredients Gathered

Preheat Oven to 350

Combine Ingredients

Crush Crackers in the Sleeve (Less Mess,Easy Pour)

Yummy GoodnessFinished Product All Gooey & Golden

Grab A Fork!

We Delightfully Devoured Some

Now it’s your turn!!

Lip Smackin’ Hashbrown Casserole

Recipe by H. Tiger

  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup
  •  1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 (16oz) container sour cream (Light or Fat-free)
  •  2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded
  •   2 (3oz) bags real bacon bits
  •  2 packages Ranch Dip mix
  •  2 tablespoons butter, softened
  •  1 & 1/2 tablespoons dried minced onion flakes or onion powder
  •  1 tablespoon garlic powder
  •  ground black pepper to taste
  •  1 (2 pound) package frozen shredded hash brown potatoes, (thawed)
  •  1 sleeve crushed Ritz crackers (flavored or wheat if available)

(Can use any topping from Chex, cornflakes, or crushed croutons to add some crunch and texture)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the soup, sour cream, butter, ranch packets, dried onion flakes, garlic powder, and pepper. Use a whisk briefly for a smooth texture.
  3. Add the bacon and stir until combined well.  Stir in the hash browns and 1/2 the cheese.
  4. Pour into the prepared baking dish, sprinkle with remaining cheese, and top with crushed topping.
  5. Bake 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

ENJOY!!!

Heather

8 Responses to “Lip Smackin’ Hashbrown Casserole”

  1. Mom February 18, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    I’m impressed.. how did it taste?

    • Heather Tiger February 18, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

      It was sinfully yummy! It’ll be perfect for tomorrow!

  2. Jennifer Lambert-Sappington February 19, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Think it would be as good with cream of chicken??? I don’t do mushrooms…. The rest looks wonderful!!!

    • Heather Tiger February 19, 2012 at 12:28 am #

      Jennifer, I originally just used cream of chicken and it works just as well by itself (2 cans). I added mushrooms for me! Hope you like it!

  3. Priscilla February 19, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    I am sure it was a hit with Aaron because of the bacon. Does look good and rich!

    • Heather Tiger February 19, 2012 at 12:27 am #

      Yes, he enjoyed the addition of bacon this time. And it is rich…tried to go lower fat where possible! That’s why we don’t have it too often.

  4. Terri February 19, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Looks good Heather. Hope there is some left when it comes my turn in line.

    • Heather Tiger February 19, 2012 at 1:20 am #

      If not, I’ll make you some special!

Leave a Reply

