Baby Bedding by Design

27 Jan

After looking for more unique baby bedding I finally came across a website that had tons of fabric options and a design it tool that lets you customize the look down to the color of the trim in the room.  It was super fun and easy to play with and I ended up with a design that I am pretty excited about.  Carousel Designs is a fabulous site and their prices are pretty comparable to other custom sellers like you’ll find on Etsy.com.

Here it is!

Bedding Designed at Carousel Designs

Click on the HERE above and it will take you to my registry on the site.  Not expecting anything off of it, but an easy way to let others take a closer look.  And if my sweet mother decides to purchase her new grandson the whimsical quilt, then that’s a special bonus!

Details on the design are as follows:

The bumper fabric is Solid Butter

The crib sheet is Gray Script Cotton

The crib skirt is Black Baby Toile

The quilt front is Yellow Nursery Rhyme Toile, inside is Gray Script Cotton, and trim is Solid Black Minky

We will not be using a traditional bumper this time around which is one reason I did not want to go with a store bought, bed-in-a-bag option.  There is nothing wrong with that, and is what we used last time.  Since we know we don’t need the bumper, there is no point in paying for the set!  We ended up using a breathable bumper with Micah once he started moving around more in the crib, and I have my eye on the yellow version this time.  It will give the same look as above with the extra safety benefit for only $24 at Amazon vs. $130 on Carousel Designs. 

My very gifted mother-in-law has offered to sew a crib sheet and/or crib skirt for us, so I am hoping that a trip to Hobby Lobby or Hancock Fabrics will produce a similar Black Baby Toile fabric that can save us a % of the $109 the skirt would cost.  I love toiles in general, but I really like the design of this one with babies playing in a not too flowery park setting.  I think it will tie into the Tree of Life well.  I’m not so hopeful of finding a close match for the Gray Script fabric.  Recent searches have not shown promising in that area, plus I really love the simple but elegant pattern Carousel Designs fabric has.  The words on the fabric are ones we will whisper to our little boy to help lull him to sleep, like sweet dreams, wish upon a star, rock a bye, sleep tight, and love bebe; it is perfect, and within price range at $36. 

The quilt we plan on hanging on the wall near the changing table as we did with Micah’s; using it as visual impact and stimulation for TC (Tiger Cub).  I love the whimsical nursery rhyme fabric for adding fun eye candy and the colors are perfect.  I liked having the Gray Script on the back of the quilt and envision the quilt becoming a treasured keepsake we can pass along to our baby boy when he has children of his own one day.  I can think of nothing sweeter than our grandchild or children playing on the very words that we lovingly spoke  to our own child.  (See mom, don’t you want to buy it now!)  😉

As for the design tool, I loved that you could select the wall, trim, flooring, and crib color to really give you an idea of what the bedding will look like with all the elements pulled together.  You better believe I pinned this website on Pinterest!

Well, I had fun and feel happy with the result so far.

What do you think?  Is it alright for a little boy?

Grace for the journey~

Heather

3 Responses to “Baby Bedding by Design”

  1. pegleg1955 January 27, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    I believe it is great and Kasen will love it. I will ponder on purchasing the quilt for sure. I think you have found a good choice.

  2. leannepenny January 31, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Very cute stuff!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nursery Fabric Fun « Thorn in My Heart - February 12, 2012

    […] We hit Hancock’s first and they were having a moving sale!  They were moving to a new store (across the street), so score on the savings!  I found a few fabrics I liked as contenders for the crib skirt and clicked some pics to compare at Hobby Lobby.  Thankfully my fabric samples from Carousel Designs had come in earlier in the week so I could see how they worked with ones I found in store.  You can see the an example of some of the bedding I am getting by clicking here. […]

Leave a Reply

