DIY: Tree of Life- Planting the Seeds

26 Jan

I have been scouring the internet from Pinterest to personal blogs looking for nursery inspiration for our second Tiger Cub.  I really want to do something unique and special for my soon to be arrived newest boy.  He has been such a sweet surprise, yet one that has taken some getting used to this time around.  Day by day the reality that we will soon add a second darling boy to our family takes hold of my heart in a way I didn’t think possible.  After having and giving so much love to my charming firstborn, Micah, I couldn’t imagine feeling the same about another child.  Yet, I know it will happen.  I will love them differently, but each with an abundance and overflowing of my very being.

In the meantime, I crave to create something that will show my son just how special a gift he is.  I got to spend so much energy and uninterrupted time preparing a fun and unique space for Micah; spent hours reading what to expect and planning for his arrival, but I am finding this pregnancy speeding by without that same devoted time of preparation.

After many ideas have come and gone I have decided not to go with a fully themed nursery this time around.  This pregnancy has been so different than my first and I’m finding that the boys even “act” different.  Micah was incredibly active at all times during the day and night from the moment I felt the first flutter.  However, Tiger Cub #2 has so far been much more chill.  I’ve felt his tiny flips and flutters for about a month now, but he tends to be much more fluid and far less frequent in his movements.  I don’t know what it is, but as much as Micah is forceful and flamboyant, I get the feeling that TC2 is calm and cool; both wonderful and unique in their own way.

So the first DIY project I am going to attempt is to create a Tree of Life in TC2’s nursery as a focal wall.  I am not an artist.  I can create shapes and recreate crafts I see, but when it comes to drawing free-form; less is more in my case.  Still, after thinking about what symbols, images, and style I wanted for our little one, I kept coming back to trees.  I thought of decals and stencils, but everything that I have come across so far costs a pretty penny.  Since I am once again a stay-at-home mom, this leaves our decor budget a bit small.  Thus, I am thinking this leaves a trace and paint, with a bit of free-form to hopefully create the image in my head.

While looking at decals I came across this interesting tree at dalidecals.com

Tree Decal from dalidecals.comI am envisioning a tree similar to this, with inscribed words of life within the circles to inspire and encourage my little guy as he grows.  I am going to play with some color combinations before beginning because Aaron and I have talked about cool grey walls with gold and scarlet accents.  I will try and sketch some concept art to include in an update.  For now I just wanted to get the idea out there in the attempt to motivate myself.  Any extra encouragement, tips, or help is always welcome!

Since we are still trying to figure out the room situation for the boys, I’m not sure how quickly this project can get under way, but I will update asap.  Keep an eye out and wish me luck!

2 Responses to “DIY: Tree of Life- Planting the Seeds”

  1. Kellie V. February 15, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    great idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Bedding by Design « Thorn in My Heart - January 27, 2012

    […] of this one with babies playing in a not too flowery park setting.  I think it will tie into the Tree of Life well.  I’m not so hopeful of finding a close match for the Gray Script fabric.  Recent […]

Leave a Reply

