Deep Waters Ahead

21 Jun

I’ve been having a lot of dreams involving water lately.  In some of them it is merely raining, pouring in others, and some have involved rapids.  I honestly haven’t thought much about them because nothing has stood out in them other than the H2O content.  They haven’t been bad dreams and nothing exciting has happened.  This is actually unusual for me as I am normally a very eventful dreamer.  Just ask Aaron to recount one of my numerous dreams starring his alter ego, Bad Aaron.

I was doing my daily devotional today over at Crosswalk.com, reading the Girlfriends in God, Women’s Daily Devotional, and God decided to speak up and do some dream interpretation for me.  Great, right?  I’m not sure if I like the interpretation.  This was one of the scriptures I read:

Isaiah 43:2 “When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you” (NLT).

It was like a light bulb clicked on in my head and there was God showing me my recent dreams.  Really?  Why not some rainbows and promises to never “flood” my life again?  Nope.  Apparently there is some lesson I need to learn or some growing I need to do.  Again.  I’m not sure there is a retirement age for these growth sessions.  Write your local pastor if you’d like him to propose a bill to God.  Good thing I live with one!

Okay, so there are some deep waters ahead for me.  I shouldn’t be so surprised.  I did ask God to help me find my shape.  Ask and you shall receive, right?  I guess I better read the fine print next time!  It’s a good thing He also promises to be with us along these difficult journeys.  I was glad to read a few more verses that spoke of these promises.

Psalm 32:8 “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you” (NLT).

Isaiah 65:24 “I will provide their needs before they ask. I will help them while they are still asking for help” (NLT).

I’m not sure what direction the waters will take me, but I’m sure there will be some times when it reaches over my head and I have to reach out and grab ahold of my Father’s hand if I am to stay afloat.  I’m hoping I do more than tread this water, but that I can dive in and swim the current, getting stronger as I go.

I’m glad I’ve got some good music to listen to along the way.

2 Responses to “Deep Waters Ahead”

  1. bishopswife June 23, 2010 at 1:54 am #

    Oh wow Heather…this is so insightful! I dream all the time too, it’s amazing when God reveals their meaning. Thanks for sharing this…maybe God is wanting to take you deeper in Him and that’s part of it too…you know He is wanting to shower you with His love, adoration, vision, diamonds, new clothes…

    Okay, so maybe I got carried away there. But, may we all dream of Tiffany diamonds and first class shopping sprees tonight… even if we do have to wade through flood waters to get to the promises 🙂

  2. Heather Tiger June 24, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I like your insight about going deeper in Him, which I know is needed! And of course, deeper in diamonds is obvious! LOL!

Leave a Reply

