Quebec Sinkhole: WWYDW

12 May

My mouth was wide open in shock when the tragic scene from Saint-Jude, Quebec flashed across the late news.  It’s the stuff of science fiction; the Earth opening up and swallowing homes whole.  My prayers go out to the community and family members of the Prefontaines who lost their lives.  News articles say they were watching a hockey game when their world literally fell out from underneath them.  The only bright spot is that one of their dogs, Foxy, miraculously survived and was found in the mud, tied to a tree.  I hope she finds a good home, on solid ground.

This horrible accident, along with the arrival if tornado season in my home state of Oklahoma, got me thinking about what I would want to survive a catastrophe.  Obviously I would want my family and friends to survive; I was thinking more along the lines of what I would grab if I had time to grab anything other than Micah, Aaron, and Beau.

I used to think that I would grab pictures, but with so many online now, I don’t know if I would.  I think my computer would be up there since there is a lot of life on it.  I would try and grab my purse with my cell in it and Micah’s diaper bag.  I think the only memory items I would want to grab would be Micah’s baby book, our wedding albums (they are the only copies), our wedding license and birth certificates, and if I could I would grab the album with Micah’s sonograms in it.  But even all the irreplaceable pictures would mean nothing if there weren’t new memories to make with the same people.  If reaching for something material meant losing someone of immeasurable worth, then I would let it all go.  It’s funny how those things we can’t live without mean so little when compared to the people who make life worth living.  I am grateful for the good things in my life, but I thank God for the ones I get to share my life with.  So I guess the most important things, I already carry with me.

What would you reach for if disaster was imminent?

When Disaster Strikes

Leave a Reply

