Ten Things Tuesday

4 May

Ten Movies To See

In no particular order are the top ten movies I am eager to see with a brief reason as to why.  Yes, there are some that are rentals now, but with an almost 7 month old in the house, we haven’t gotten out much.

1. Eclipse: The third installment of the Twilight Saga series, by Stephenie Meyer, premiers June 30, and I can’t wait.  I was a hold out on reading the books, but when I found myself on bedrest during my pregnancy, I gave in.  I am a total fan of the books and movies now.  I love a good, tortured, love story.  Nothing like teenage angst.

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1: I have only missed one HP premier, but I do not intend to miss these last two.  I heart Harry Potter and even after reading the books, again which I finally did on bedrest, I still love the movies.  Yes, the books are richer in detail and the movies make some changes, but they are still highly entertaining and, I think, thoughtful and moving.  And yes, I want to go the Universal’s Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park, badly.

3. The Losers: 3 words. Jeffrey Dean Morgan.  I also am due for a good action flick.

4. The Back-up Plan:  I am a JLO fan.  I think she can act and I enjoy her music.  Selena, is one of my favorite bios and I think Jen really shines in Rom-Coms.  After surviving my first pregnancy, I am looking forward to a few good laughs, and I’m sure a few over-top Hollywood moments.

5. Date Night: This film has the potential to be unbelievably funny or unbearably funny, but raunchy.  I’m hoping for option 1 and think that’s the right one with Tina Fey on board.  Aaron and I love Steve Carell, and I am eager to see him in a good mix of his acting skills.  Plus, great excuse, Date Night on date night?!

6. Sherlock Holmes: Who doesn’t love a big action block-buster?  This looks clever, funny. and the actors are quality.  Jude Law is, um, a nice-looking bloke.

7. Remember Me: This film combines two major favorites.  See #1 for my mini-obsession with Twilight.  Robert Pattinson is angst and tortured in this film, so lots of brooding looks which he wears well.  Plus, Emilie de Ravin, better known as Claire, from Lost is Rob’s love interest and fellow tortured soul.  Love the love stories.

8. The Last Song:  I’m not really a Miley Cyrus fan.  Nothing against her or her talent, just kinda ambivalent.  I am however, a Nicholas Spark’s fan.  I have read all of his books and seen all the film adaptations.  I’m not expecting this to be The Notebook quality, but I enjoyed the book.  This will no doubt be a rental for a night when Aaron works late.

9. Sex and the City 2:  My best friend Melodi adores the series and tried to sell me on it numerous times.  It wasn’t until moving to KY and I had some sleepless nights that I finally watched the show on TBS.  I find the relationship dynamics fascinating and the whole show a brilliant case study into the psyche of our need for love.  I enjoyed the first movie, especially because it involved a girls night.  I am overdue for a girls night with Mel, so this is the perfect excuse.

10. Letters to Juliet:  Yes, another love story.  However, I think it is a must see when it involves one of the classics.  I think the Romeo and Juliet aspect will be cheesy, but the movie will probably provide exactly what is expected; a fun, sweet, happy-ending love story meant to uplift.  We all need more of those don’t we?

Movies, Movies, Movies

5 Responses to “Ten Things Tuesday”

  1. bishopswife May 4, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I love Twilight too! I started reading them last spring when I was pregnant with Rowan. Instead of sending my hubby on late night ice cream runs…he was going to Target to pick up the next book. I was so addicted I read through all of them in 1 month. Ahh…Twilight how I love you! I can’t wait for Eclipse…it’s going to be so good!

    I really want to see Date Night and The Back Up Plan…they both look hilarious! Good picks, now I just want to curl up and watch movies all day! 🙂

  2. Heather Tiger May 4, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    LOL! Aaron also made some late night runs and special trips to get the next books for me! I read them in a week, but I am a night owl naturally, so all-night reading is nothing for me. My mom was actually here helping take care of me and she was a bit concerned that a pastor’s wife was so into vampire books! Didn’t help that I made a customized screen-saver slide-show with favorite quotes and images from the movies…. I had a lot of time on my hands, (and how I wish for that now sometimes!)

    I too wish I could curl up and watch movies all day!

  3. Melodi Potter May 4, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I SO can’t wait to see Eclipse AND S2 with you!!!! Girl’s night here we come! Sidenote: Tony and I saw The Losers and really enjoyed it….

    much love – Elo

    • Heather Tiger May 4, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      I know, Elo! Me too! It’ll be nice not to have to go months and months between seeing you.

  4. bishopswife May 5, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    I’m laughing so hard at the thought of:

    1. your mom being concerned…my husband was too! We both laugh about it now, but at the time he would ask me if I thought it was wise to read books about vampires. Too funny!

    2. your screen saver slide show. I LOVE IT!!!

Leave a Reply

