Song for Saturdays: Opening Number

2 May

Hands by Jewel

A jewel and her guitar

(Make sure to watch the video of today’s song at the end!)

I thought I would start the song series off with my two favorites.  Jewel is my absolute favorite artist and she is a constant source of inspiration in my life.  Her songs, lyrics, poetry, books, art, blogs, tweets, videos, and causes all showcase her talent, but more than that, they are glimpses into the soul of someone who sees the good in everyone and everything, and works to make a difference if good is not to be found.  Yes, I am a fan.  I even thank her in my poetry book as being an inspiration!  I have 6th row tickets to an upcoming concert in June and I am so ecstatic to see Jewel in concert again as she promotes her new album, Sweet and Wild.

While I adore most, if not all, of her music, Hands is, well, hands down my favorite.  (I know, but I couldn’t resist!)  The message of the song is so beautiful and very much needed in the world today.  If my life had a theme song, this would be it.  My favorite version, other than live, is on her Christmas album, Joy: A Holiday Collection, while the original is found on her Spirit album, which is my favorite album so far.  I have a desire to sing this at church one day, though it would be a humble version as I cannot even compare my voice to hers.  This song is a powerful reminder that we each have worth and something to offer.  A very timely message for myself.  I hope this makes you feel a little better about this sometimes cruel and unloving world.



Leave a Reply

