A Blogging Driven Life

15 Jul

I just got done reading a few of my friends’ blogs; ones that I hadn’t yet discovered.  I was more than pleasantly surprised at what I found.  What caught my attention the most was the simplicity portrayed.  Even though there was depth and even eloquence, their words simply showed their truest selves.  I find that so beautiful and brave. 

I know it’s one of the deadly sins, but I have to admit, I was a tinsy, itty, bitty bit envious.  (Yes, Aaron, I hear you saying, “It’s alright to be itty bitty.”)  I found myself evaluating my own blogosphere, and what I found was a new perspective.

Sometimes I am too hard on myself.  I try too hard instead of just letting things take shape.  Unfortunately I have always been my worst critic and enemy, and strangely, never my biggest fan.  I admire those people who are comfortable in their own skin, all the time, no matter the circumstance.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me and am grateful for all the gifts and graces God has blessed me with; sometimes I just get selective amnesia and forget all those good things, and all I can remember are those less than desirable traits, qualities, and characteristics.  I think this is an actual disorder listed in the DSM IV under cognitive disorders.  Just take my word on it!

So, in the process of admiring my friends’ blogs and rating my own, I felt the amnesia taking hold.  Thankfully, I have been developing and putting some useful tools into practice to head this devastating disorder off.  For instance, I repeat the mantra, actually sing it, “My God loves me just the way that I am.”  For those country music fans, this mantra is sung to Martina McBride’s tune, “My Baby Loves Me Just the Way That I Am.” 

After repeating this meaningful mantra and utilizing other helpful tools, I quickly remembered to look at the good and let the bad make me better.  That’s the great thing about blogging; you get this amazing forum where you get to be just exactly who you are, or even strive to become something or someone you desire to be. 

The best blogs showcase the soul of the scribe.  Whether someone is writing about sports, politics, family, God, love, or a messy house, somewhere between the first line and the final point of punctuation you will uncover or discover the beauty of the individual.  Humanity is at its best and sometimes its worst when we lay ourselves bare before the world, with nothing but our own truths to offer. 

The best blogs offer these truths, in all their complexity and simplicity, claiming to be no more or less than who they are at that moment.  No matter if there are five lines or fifty, it is the person we discover between the lines that capture our interest and entreat us to bookmark their blog. 

I feel incredibly blessed to personally know so many incredible people who so bravely and beautifully bare their souls and sometimes their sock drawers before the world wide web.  Thanks for sharing and I humbly hope I remember to do the same, for we are all children of God, beloved and desired, made for a glorious purpose. 

I continue on the path to uncovering this purpose, one day at a time.

One Response to “A Blogging Driven Life”

  1. Leanne Penny July 17, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    I love that God speaks to you through country songs. What if God looks like Allen Jackson? I think somehow I would be okay with that. 🙂

    I love your eyes that see the beauty in the simplicity, your soul shines through these words. thanks.

Leave a Reply

