30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Day 25 & 26} Gratitude and Grace

27 Nov

Yesterday was a beautiful, holy day.  Despite waking up from too little sleep with a throat that was on fire and a head that felt like an elephant was sitting on it, the day was wonderful.

We celebrated this little guy’s baptism at our church.  Yes, I cried.

My littlest tiger after his baptism

Papa Tiger performing the baptism

Yes, yesterday was awesome, despite feeling physically lousy.  We celebrated with family and rejoice that our son, Kasen, is baptized and covered by God’s grace.  We would need that grace. Today has been pretty awful.  No need to make it sound better than it was.  I was still sick, Kasen was still sick, and The Hubs was leaving town for a couple days, so Micah was pushing even more boundaries than normal.  I am incredibly grateful that my mom is here to help out for a few days.

I couldn’t get a hold of the doctor’s office to get Kasen in, Micah was going berserk and being every bit of his 3 yr old self, and I was at my limit.  Let’s just say that naptime held tears for more than just Micah and Kasen.  This mother of the year nominee might have told her eldest son he was ungrateful and horrible.  Yep.. I. AM. Awful.  I felt terrible and apologized right away, but the words wounded his little heart and broke mine.  I am in need of more grace than you can fathom.

Yes, this dapper and sweet fellow is capable of incredible mischief and mayhem

The day didn’t get much better from there, but that was definitely rock bottom of it for me.  I clung to every glimpse of hope, beauty, and grace I could through the evening and as I put a very cranky Micah to sleep.  One glimmer was when he perked up while I read a Max Lucado book to him that talked about heaven. “Heaven, mommy?  God’s up there, but I can’t see him.” “I know honey, but He is in your heart.” “Oh good!”

You better believe I snuggled him and kissed his sweet face and told him how wonderful and special he is.

We said we would start the day fresh and both be nicer and more loving.

Talk about grace.

I am so grateful for grace in action, every moment, on the good and awful days.

Gracefully~~Heather

 

 

One Response to “30 Days of a Thankful Heart {Day 25 & 26} Gratitude and Grace”

  1. Anita November 27, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    What a wonderful example we parents can be to our kids when we model what we teach them :) Good for you mom! And the baptism pictures are absolutely precious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

