You is Important: Day 28: Lent Journey

24 Mar

Image copyright of Heather Tiger

” 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. “

2 Corinthians 12: 7-10

Aibileen Clark, one of the main heroines from The Help, faced great trials and persecution.  She felt weak; yet she was made strong.  She had great faith in the midst of struggles.  She never forgot that she, and those she fought for, were worth every minute of pain.  She knew her value and the value of others, even when told there was none to be found.  She was worth the fight.

Do you know you are?

In the midst of a dark night, weary and burdened, I am reminded that it is not my strength that sees me through.  It is by weakness that God’s power, love, and grace are lifted up, and He is enough. 

In my weakness

I am reminded that I am Important

I am Loved

I am Chosen

I am Worth the Fight

So Are You!

Worth Fighting For

I heard you crying last night.

Muffled, hiding your pain,

from a world too busy to see

one suffering soul, slowly slipping away.

Can you take my hand and

let me pull you up gently,

long enough to see the hope

and remember you’re not alone.

You are worth fighting for.

No bruises to show, but battered still;

twisted and torn till you turn on yourself.

Pushing it down, covered by a sweet smile,

until all the broken pieces had nowhere to go, but in.

I’ll let you fall apart,

here in my arms,

until you are strong enough

to stand again and you know,

you are worth fighting for.

-Heather Tiger

Some ways I am reminding myself this weekend to rest my weary soul and that I am important and worth fighting for:

  • A pedi, sushi lunch, and catch up time with my BFF Melodi
  • Seeing family back home
  • A date to see The Hunger Games with Aaron (the hubs)
  • Worship
  • Small Group

I hope you have a restful, fun, and fabulous weekend!  See you Monday!

Gracefully~~Heather

*Worth Fighting For is a poem from my poetry book, Leave a Light On, now out of printIt was written when I was 19.

2 Responses to “You is Important: Day 28: Lent Journey”

  1. Peggie Crews Fusick March 24, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    I helped you edit that book and do not remember that poem, Heather. When i read it I thought you had just whipped it up last night. I hope you have a good weekend and get some much needed connection time with Melo and downtime with Aaron. You know I am always just a step away so I can hold my little girl in my arms to help sooth away the pain. I love you. Mom

    • Heather Tiger March 24, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Thank you, and if course I know that! I love you, and glad we got to stop by for Bueno!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

