DIY Paint Chip Easter Egg Garlands

21 Mar

*There is a children’s Sunday School lesson tip using this craft at the end of the post!*

I’m a little late getting all my Easter decorations out this year, but I leave them up all Spring, so I’m okay with that.  Normally, I add one or two new store-bought decorations with each new holiday or season.  Not this time!  I came across this fabulous and brilliant DIY craft on Pinterest and knew I had to give it a shot.  After swinging by the original post and tutorial by Steph over at Modern Parents Messy Kids, I set out to gather my supplies.

I had to go to Lowe’s to get the paint for Kasen’s nursery, and while I perused the grays and silvers, I managed to grab a “few” extra Olympic paint chip samples, in a variety of Spring hues.  I did feel a bit of guilt over the number taken, but Micah picked up stray samples others had rudely discarded on the floor, and we turned them in to the cashier, so I think he worked off the “amount.”  I also bought paint and a staple gun, so not feeling too bad for them.

Here are all the supplies I used for the Easter Egg Garlands:

Cost:$3, only because I had to buy some yarn, although it will also be used in another Pinterest DIY project I’ll be working on.

I did use the provided egg template from Modern Parents Messy Kids, for the first few small eggs I cut out.  I ended up using an egg I cut from the paint chip for the rest of the small eggs since the paper was a bit thicker and easier to trace.  I suggest printing the egg template on cardstock if available, or free-hand.  I’m not that brave!  I used an egg Micah created at his sitter’s for the large egg template.

Trace on the back of the paint chips to eliminate marks on the eggs

I was able to get 3-4 eggs out of the sample using the small egg template.  This does include some of the paint name on 1 of the eggs you’ll cut, so if you don’t want the print, I would only trace 2 per sample.  Of course this is for the specific Olympic paint sample.  I was able to get 1 egg per sample with the large template.

Punch two holes in the top of the eggs.  A smaller hole punch can be used.  I had to borrow one from the church, standard single punch, and it was the perfect size to easily push the yarn through each egg when stringing.  I tied a small knot on the end I was feeding through the holes, which made it easy to handle and prevented fraying.  I really like how the colorful yarn looks!

This was a time consuming project for me, from hand-tracing the eggs, cutting them out 3-4 samples at a time, punching them 2-3 eggs at a time, and stringing them together.  It took me a few hours, but I created 5 garlands of about 20 eggs each. I also had to help take care of a attention-craving two-year old, which did not leave my hands free the whole time!

Check out the results!

I love the final result and the hubs was even impressed, and liked the cost even better!  I think my favorite is the one with small and large eggs combined.

A mixture of large and small eggs

I have one on our bathroom mirror,

This garland is all small eggs

one on the entertainment center,

and the third is welcoming in the entry.

This garland is all large eggs, and I added the Easter words.

The other two are headed for the church bulletin board in the foyer.  I’ll have to make sure to store them carefully so I can user them for the next few years at least!

So glad Steph at Modern Parents Messy Kids came up with this brilliant idea and grateful to Pinterest so I could discover it!

*I think this would be a really great and easy project for a children’s Sunday School class.  I wasn’t teaching this month or I’d have given it a shot.  Have the kids read the Easter story and pick out words they could put on each egg, like Alive, Hosanna, Christ is Risen, Hallelujah, Faith, etc.  They could take the garlands home or you could do a few as a class project and hang in the halls.  I’ll have to schedule this for next year!*

What do you think?

Are you headed to your local home improvement store right now?!

I’d love to hear your thoughts and see your own garlands.

Gracefully~~Heather

7 Responses to “DIY Paint Chip Easter Egg Garlands”

  1. nonoymanga March 21, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    Very nice collection of hand work arts. Good day Nonoy Manga

    • Heather Tiger March 21, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Thank you! Glad you stopped by.

  2. Peggie Crews Fusick March 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I like it

  3. Rachel @Peace, Love, Fabulous March 22, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Great job!

    • Heather Tiger March 22, 2012 at 1:06 am #

      Thank you! Appreciate the visit!

  4. Kellie V. March 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    sooo cute!!! great post! Best, Kellie

    • Heather Tiger March 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

